Fry’s Celebrates End of Ten Years as Title Sponsor



Napa, California, October 20, 2015 – Emiliano Grillo won the 2015 Frys.com Open at Silverado Resort and Spa on Sunday, beating Kevin Na on the second playoff hole to earn victory in his first tournament as a member of the PGA TOUR.

Grillo graduated to the TOUR by winning the Web.com Championship at TPC Sawgrass on October 4th.

During the final round of the Frys.com Open it was announced on Golf Channel by Tournament Chairperson and Co-Founder of Fry’s Electronics, Kathy Kolder, that Fry’s Electronics would end its 10-year run as title sponsor.

“Since 2006 Fry’s has sponsored eleven tournaments in four cities – Las Vegas, Nevada, Scottsdale, Arizona, San Martin, California and Napa, California – and generated approximately $8 million for worthy charities,” Kolder said.  “Fry’s hopes to resume title sponsorship when the clubhouse at The Institute Golf Club in Morgan Hill, California is completed.”

The tournament has made tremendous strides under the Fry’s leadership. It became the season opening event in the reconfigured PGA TOUR schedule, gained full recognition in the FedExCup and the champion earned an invitation to play in The Masters.

In addition to title sponsoring tournaments in subsequent weeks in 2007, Fry’s initiated an Executive Women’s Day program in 2010, was a test event permitting fans to use mobile devices during competition rounds, and also introduced the fan-favorite Beer for Birdies tent.

Fry’s-sponsored tournaments attracted many of the top professionals in the game including Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Matt Kuchar, Ernie Els, Hunter Mahan, Charl Schwartzel, Webb Simpson, Jimmy Walker, Patrick Reed, Hideki Matsuyama, Brandt Snedeker and others.

The American Institute of Mathematics, based in San Jose, is the tournament’s primary beneficiary.

The Safeway Open will be played at Silverado Resort and Spa on similar early October dates through 2020. “The PGA TOUR players and their families love coming to Silverado and Napa Valley” said Kolder. “We congratulate Safeway and Silverado on their new partnership and wish them the best on future tournaments.”


Fry’s-sponsored tournament Champions have been as follows:

2006 – Troy Matteson, Las Vegas

2007 – George McNeill, Las Vegas

2007 – Mike Weir, Scottsdale

2008 – Cameron Beckman, Scottsdale

2009 – Troy Matteson, Scottsdale

2010 – Rocco Mediate, San Martin

2011 – Bryce Molder, San Martin

2012 – Jonas Blixt, San Martin

2013 – Jimmy Walker, San Martin

2014 – Sang Moon Bae, Napa

2015 – Emiliano Grillo, Napa